LEADER 00000cam a22004818i 4500 
001    1079864513 
003    OCoLC 
005    20190917104316.0 
008    181224t20192019onc    c      000 f eng   
010    2018955366 
015    20189049871|2can 
016    (AMICUS)000045301150 
020    9780735266247 
020    0735266247 
035    (OCoLC)1079864513 
040    YDX|beng|erda|cYDX|dNLC|dBDX|dNLC|dACN|dJTH|dILC|dGO6|dUAP
       |dNYP|dCIB 
049    CIBA 
082 04 jC813/.54|223 
100 1  Walters, Eric,|d1957-|eauthor. 
245 10 Broken strings /|cEric Walters and Kathy Kacer. 
264  1 Toronto :|bPuffin Books,|c2019. 
264  4 |c©2019 
300    282 pages ;|c22 cm 
336    text|btxt|2rdacontent 
337    unmediated|bn|2rdamedia 
338    volume|bnc|2rdacarrier 
520    A violin and a middle-school musical unleash a dark family
       secret in this moving story by an award-winning author 
       duo. For fans of The Devil's Arithmetic and Hana's 
       Suitcase. It's 2002. In the aftermath of the twin towers -
       - and the death of her beloved grandmother -- Shirli 
       Berman is intent on moving forward. The best singer in her
       junior high, she auditions for the lead role in Fiddler on
       the Roof, but is crushed to learn that she's been given 
       the part of the old Jewish mother in the musical rather 
       than the coveted part of the sister. But there is an 
       upside: her "husband" is none other than Ben Morgan, the 
       cutest and most popular boy in the school. Deciding to 
       throw herself into the role, she rummages in her 
       grandfather's attic for some props. There, she discovers 
       an old violin in the corner -- strange, since her Zayde 
       has never seemed to like music, never even going to any of
       her recitals. Showing it to her grandfather unleashes an 
       anger in him she has never seen before, and while she is 
       frightened of what it might mean, Shirli keeps trying to 
       connect with her Zayde and discover the awful reason 
       behind his anger. A long-kept family secret spills out, 
       and Shirli learns the true power of music, both terrible 
       and wonderful. 
650  0 Musicals|vJuvenile fiction. 
650  0 Acting|vJuvenile fiction. 
650  0 Secrecy|vJuvenile fiction. 
650  0 Holocaust survivors' families|vJuvenile fiction. 
650  0 Violin|vJuvenile fiction. 
650  0 Jews|zUnited States|vJuvenile fiction. 
650  1 Teenage girls|vFiction. 
650  1 Actors and actresses|vFiction. 
650  1 Violin|vFiction. 
700 1  Kacer, Kathy,|d1954-|eauthor. 
776 1  Walters, Eric, 1957-, author.|tBroken strings. /|dToronto 
       : Puffin Canada, 2019.|w(CaOONL)2018904988X 
994    C0|bCIB 
LOCATION CALL # STATUS 
 Bourne-Children's Room  J FICTION Walters     AVAILABLE
 Brooks(Harwich)-Children  J FICTION WAL     AVAILABLE
 Falmouth-Children's-NEW  J FICTION Walters     IN TRANSIT
1 copy being processed for Falmouth-Children's Room.