Limit search to available items
Result page: Previous Record Next Record
Author Messner, Kate, author.
Title History Smashers : the Underground Railroad / Kate Messner and Gwendolyn Hooks ; illustrated by Damon Smyth.
Pub Info New York : Random House, [2022]
©2022
Rating
book jacket
LOCATION CALL # STATUS 
 Brooks(Harwich)-Children  J 973.7 MES     DUE 08-03-22
 Cotuit Children's-NEW  J 973.3 MES     DUE 08-20-22
 Dennis Public - Juvenile  J 973.711 MES     AVAILABLE
 Falmouth-Children's-NEW  J 973.7 Mes     DUE 09-02-22
 Vineyard Haven Children's     ON ORDER
1 copy being processed for Falmouth-Children's Room.
Edition First edition.
Descript 199 pages : illustrations, maps ; 20 cm.
text txt rdacontent
still image sti rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Series History smashers ; [bk.7]
Messner, Kate. History smashers.
Bibliog. Includes bibliographical references (pages 180-191) and index.
Contents One: How slavery came to America -- Two: Ocean crossing -- Three: Resistance and revolts -- Four: Liberty for some -- Five: Freedom's fire -- Six: Heroes and helpers -- Seven: Stories of escape -- Eight: An unjust law -- Nine: Daring and defiance -- Ten: Slavery ends...but its legacy lives on -- A timeline of slavery and the underground railroad -- Author's notes -- Selected bibliography.
Summary "Myths! Lies! Secrets! Uncover the hidden truth about the Underground Railroad and Black Americans' struggle for freedom. Perfect for fans of I Survived! and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales. Before the Civil War, there was a crack team of abolitionists who used quilts and signal lanterns to guide enslaved people to freedom. Right? Wrong! The truth is, the Underground Railroad wasn't very organized, and most freedom seekers were on their own. With a mix of sidebars, illustrations, photos, and graphic panels, acclaimed author Kate Messner and coauthor and Brown Bookshelf contributor Gwendolyn Hooks deliver the whole truth about the Underground Railroad. Discover the nonfiction series that smashes everything you thought you knew about history!"-- Amazon.
Subject Underground Railroad -- Juvenile literature.
African Americans -- History -- Juvenile literature.
Underground Railroad.
African Americans -- History.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Juvenile literature.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Social aspects -- Juvenile literature.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Social aspects.
Genre Informational works.
Add Author Hooks, Gwendolyn, author.
Smyth, Damon, 1991- illustrator.
Alt Title Underground railroad
ISBN 9780593428948 (hardcover)
0593428943 (hardcover)
9780593428931 (paperback)
0593428935 (paperback)
Result page: Previous Record Next Record