Limit search to available items
Result page: Previous Record Next Record
Author Bartok, Josh, author.
Title I see you, Buddha! / by Josh Bartok ; illustrated by Demi.
Pub Info Somerville, MA : Wisdom Publications, [2020]
Rating
book jacket
LOCATION CALL # STATUS 
 Vineyard Haven Children's  J 294.3 BAR     AVAILABLE
Descript 1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 24 cm
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Summary "Destined to be classic: a tale from the Buddhist sutras told in the memorable and engaging rhyming verse in the tradition of Dr. Seuss and Shel Silverstein. Children and their parents will both love it, and be encouraged. Illustrated in a style that brings both humor and tradition, by the renowned and award-winning illustrator of Wisdom's Illustrated Lotus Sutra, and many other books. I See You, Buddha will help children (and their parents) difficulty with patience and learn to see the good in everyone-including themselves! I See You, Buddha is based on a chapter in the Lotus Sutra, one of the most influential Buddhist texts worldwide-a classical scripture that has inspired a whole genre of works, especially in Japan, known as Lotus Literature. The Lotus Sutra teaches the Way of the Bodhisattva-beings engaged in compassionate, enlightened activity in the service of all-by offering examples of what this activity might look like in the world. One such model in the text is Bodhisattva Never Disrespectful (or Never Disparaging), who, despite troubling encounters with and even harsh treatment from others, bows down respectfully to everyone, recognizing their Buddha Nature and honoring their own journeys along the bodhisattva path to enlightenment-whether they know they're future Buddhas or not!"-- Provided by publisher.
Audience Ages 4-6 Wisdom Publications.
Grades K-1 Wisdom Publications.
Subject Mahayana Buddhism -- Juvenile literature.
Buddhist ethics -- Juvenile literature.
Conduct of life -- Juvenile literature.
Mahayana Buddhism.
Buddhist ethics.
Conduct of life.
RELIGION / Buddhism / General.
Genre Picture books.
Stories in rhyme.
Religious materials.
Add Author Demi, illustrator.
Add Title Tripiṭaka. Sūtrapiṭaka. Saddharmapuṇḍarīkasūtra. Selections.
Related To Online version: Bartok, Josh. I see you, Buddha. Somerville : Wisdom Publications, 2020. 9781614296959 (DLC) 2020008810
ISBN 9781614296942 (hardcover)
1614296944 (hardcover)
Result page: Previous Record Next Record